East Orange Driving without Insurance Attorney
Traffic Tickets Lawyer with Offices in Newark, NJ
In today’s economy, it’s not always possible to stay on top of every bill. Sometimes insurance coverage lapses through no fault of your own. Unfortunately, New Jersey prosecutors often come down hard on defendants who have been charged with driving without insurance. In the worst cases, you could be looking at a driver’s license suspension of 2 years and a $5,000 fine. Repeat offenders could be sentenced to jail time. You need an attorney who will fight the charges and do whatever it takes to help you maintain your driving privileges.
The Tormey Law Firm is a traffic defense team with years of experience defending clients against traffic tickets for driving without insurance, driving while suspended, and speeding. Travis J. Tormey, the firm’s founding partner, has regularly appeared in municipal courts throughout Essex County, including Newark, Montclair, and West Orange. Additionally, the firm’s legal team includes a former county and municipal prosecutor who handled traffic offenses. Now she defends clients, like you, against traffic charges in Essex County.
If you have been ticketed for driving without insurance in New Jersey, the skilled and knowledgeable traffic defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm can help you fight the charges. Call us now at 201-654-3464.
N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2: Failure to Carry Motor Vehicle Insurance Coverage in Millburn NJ
As set forth by N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, anyone who owns or registers a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey is required to carry motor vehicle liability insurance coverage. Failure to do so is a traffic violation that carries significant penalties. Even if you simply allow your motor vehicle insurance coverage to lapse, it is a violation of the law.
For a first offense, the penalties include a mandatory driver’s license suspension for a period of 1 year. Additionally, first-time offenders are subject to a minimum fine of $300, with the potential for a fine as high as $1,000. Moreover, the court could require you to perform community service.
The penalties for a second offense are even more severe. You could be subject to a term of incarceration of 14 days in the local county jail. You will also face a mandatory driver’s license suspension for a period of 2 years. Additionally, you could be fined up to $5,000.
Presumption Against Driving without Insurance Charges in Bloomfield, NJ
An experienced attorney can potentially fight your charges for driving without insurance in New Jersey. When you are charged with driving without insurance, there is a “rebuttable presumption” that you are guilty. Although the prosecutor gets the benefit of an assumption that you were driving without insurance, it is possible to contest the presumption. For example, you may provide proof of insurance. If you were in fact carrying motor vehicle insurance on the date of the alleged violation, you can produce this proof at a later date to contest the charge. Additionally, you might be able to show that your insurance policy was cancelled without your knowledge. This is a tricky defense that often requires the assistance of a knowledgeable traffic attorney.
Free Consultation with Montclair Driving without Insurance Lawyers
A conviction for driving without insurance can cause significant problems for you. Don’t take these charges lying down. Contact an experienced traffic defense lawyer who will do what is necessary to help you avoid a lengthy driver’s license suspension. If you’ve been charged with driving without insurance in Essex County or anywhere else in the State of New Jersey, the Tormey Law Firm can help. Call us today at 201-654-3464 to discuss your case over the phone, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our office in Newark, NJ.