Bloomfield NJ Ignition Interlock Devices for DWI Convictions
With offices in Newark, New Jersey
Every DWI case is unique. Unfortunately, many NJ prosecutors take a one-size-fits-all approach to DWI prosecutions. As a result, anyone busted for drunk driving in the State of New Jersey is subject to maximum punishments that can include jail time, heavy fines, and loss of driver’s license. One of the worst consequences of a Driving While Intoxicated conviction is a requirement to install an ignition interlock device on all of your motor vehicles. An ignition interlock device is a machine that attaches to your vehicle and requires you to blow a clean breath sample before starting the vehicle. Having the device on your car is not only inconvenient; it can be humiliating.
If you have been accused of a DWI or DUI violation, it is imperative that you contact an experienced DWI defense attorney as soon as possible. The Tormey Law Firm is a team of DWI attorneys and experts who have the knowledge and expertise needed to beat your charges in Newark, Verona, and everywhere else in Essex County, NJ. Founding partner Travis J. Tormey is a certified Alcotest operator, so he knows how to challenge the results of your breath test. We also have a former DWI prosecutor and a former NJ State Trooper on staff, so we understand the tactics and procedures used by other side.
Contact Us Today
Call the Tormey Law Firm now at 201-654-3464 to speak with one of our DWI litigators.
NJ DWI Penalties: Ignition Interlock Devices
An ignition interlock device can make your life very difficult. In order to start your car, you will need to blow into the machine and register a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) below .05 percent. Additionally, you will need to continue providing breath samples every 15 to 30 minutes while the vehicle is in operation.
As set forth by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.16, a court may order installation of an ignition interlock device for certain DWI offenses, including:
- First Offense DWI: Required for 6 months–1 year if the driver registers a BAC of .10 percent or higher
- Second Offense DWI: 1–3 years
- Third Offense DWI: 1–3 years
- Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test: Mandatory installation for 1–3 years, depending upon the number of prior offenses
Failure to comply with an order to install an ignition interlock device can result in additional penalties, including loss of your driver’s license for an extended period. If you tamper with the device or ask someone else to blow into the device to register a clean reading, you can be charged with a disorderly persons offense and face up to six months in jail.
Free Consultation with South Orange DUI Lawyers
The Tormey Law Firm has the experience and the institutional knowledge needed to help you win your case. Our DWI experts will look over the evidence and determine if there are any constitutional issues that can be raised in your defense. Call us today at 201-654-3464, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our Newark office.