Newark NJ Second Offense DWI
With offices in Newark, New Jersey
NJ law enforcement has cracked down on drunk driving in recent years, leading to more DWI arrests than ever before. Additionally, DWI / DUI charges are aggressively prosecuted in the State of New Jersey. As a result, you could be looking at severe penalties if you’ve been accused of a second offense DWI violation. The best thing you can do right now is contact an experienced DWI defense attorney.
The Tormey Law Firm is a DWI defense team comprised of some of the most talented litigators in New Jersey. Our attorneys have defended clients against DWI charges in Bloomfield, Newark, and just about everywhere else in Essex County. Founding partner Travis J. Tormey is a certified Alcotest 7110 operator, making him one of just a handful of attorneys qualified to evaluate the breath testing device used by all NJ law enforcement officers. Additionally, the firm’s DWI team includes a former county and municipal DWI prosecutor, as well as a certified field sobriety test instructor.
Contact Us Today
Call the Tormey Law Firm today at 201-654-3464 to schedule a free, in-person consultation about your second offense DWI charges. To see examples of just a few of the thousands of Driving While Intoxicated cases we have handled, check out our Successful DWI Verdicts page.
Second Offense DWI Law: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
DWI charges are governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. The statute imposes severe penalties on anyone convicted of operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. If you are convicted of a second DWI violation within a 10-year period, you are subject to enhanced penalties in accordance with statutory guidelines.
Second Offense DUI Penalties in Essex County
First-time DWI offenders are subject to significant penalties, including jail time and loss of driver’s license. The high stakes often necessitate qualified legal representation for defendants in court. In the event of a second offense for impaired driving, the stakes are even higher:
- Jail: 2–90 days
- Driver’s License Suspension: 2 years
- Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installation on all motor vehicles for 1–3 years following reinstatement of driving privileges
- Fine: $500–$1,000
- Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharges: $1,000/year for 3 years
- Other Monetary Penalties: More than $600 in required payments and fees
- Community Service: Up to 30 days
- Alcohol Education Classes: Mandatory attendance at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for 12–48 hours
Contact a South Orange DWI Defense Lawyer
You need to take your DWI charges very seriously because prosecutors and judges are particularly harsh when it comes to repeat offenders. Let the experienced DWI defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm help you beat your second offense DWI charges. Call us today at 201-654-3464, or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation at our Newark office.