Leaving the Scene of an Accident / Hit-and-Run

Practice Areas
Menu
Legal News

Nutley NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident

With offices in Newark, New Jersey

NJ Hit-and-Run Lawyer
NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Drive long enough and you will probably be involved in an accident. This is especially true if you are driving on congested New Jersey roads. Sometimes, people who are involved in accidents get scared. Perhaps you drove off after your accident because you weren’t thinking clearly. Or maybe you didn’t realize that you were even in an accident. Unfortunately, NJ prosecutors are notorious for seeking maximum penalties in hit-and-run accidents. Depending upon the circumstances, you could accumulate several traffic points and lose your license for a long time. In the worst cases, you could end up in jail.

The Tormey Law Firm is an experienced traffic defense team that fights for the rights of individuals who have been accused of traffic violations. We appear on a daily basis in courts throughout Essex County, NJ, including Nutley, Orange, and Glen Ridge. As a result, we have developed strong working relationships with local prosecutors who respect our work and know that we are tenacious litigators. Call the Tormey Law Firm now at 201-654-3464 to begin your defense.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:4-129

The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey are set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:4-129. The statute breaks down the violation into several categories:

  1. Property Damage Only – First Offense
  2. Property Damage Only – Second or Subsequent Offense
  3. Personal Injury or Death

Penalties for Leaving the Scene in Essex County

The penalties for a hit-and-run accident vary, depending upon the type of damage caused and the number of prior offenses. Additionally, it is important to realize that if you cause significant injuries to another person, you could be subject to criminal charges.

Property Damage Only – First Offense:

  • Jail: Up to 30 days
  • Driver’s License Suspension: 6 months
  • Fine: $200–$400
  • Points on License: 2 points

Property Damage Only – Second Offense:

  • Jail: 30–90 days
  • Driver’s License Suspension: 1 year
  • Fine: $400–$600
  • Points on License: 2 points

Personal Injury or Death:

  • Jail: 180 days
  • Driver’s License Suspension: 1 year, with possibility of permanent loss of license for a second offense
  • Fine: $2,500–$5,000
  • Points on License: 8 points

Call a Fairfield Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyer

If you have been accused of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident in New Jersey, it is critical that you speak with a lawyer immediately. The Tormey Law Firm is prepared to fight your charges in court and challenge the prosecutor on all of the elements of proof in your case. Call us today at 201-654-3464 to discuss your charges, or email us to schedule a free consultation at our office in Newark, NJ.

What our clients say about us

Excellent attorney, highly recommend his talents

"I was facing serious trouble for marijuana possession. Was looking at probation, loss of driving privileges and even jail time. Travis's great knowledge of his clients constitutional rights"

Jon

Request a Free Consultation

Our NJ lawyers represent clients in Belleville, Bloomfield, Caldwell, Cedar Grove, City of Orange, East Orange, Essex Fells, Fairfield, Glen Ridge, Irvington, Livingston, Maplewood, Millburn, Short Hills, Montclair, Upper Montclair, Newark, North Caldwell, Nutley, Roseland, South Orange Village, Verona, West Caldwell, West Orange, Wayne, Clifton and Paterson. Call us at 201-654-3464 or toll-free at 888-668-1940.


Hackensack Law Office

254 State Street

Hackensack, NJ 07601

Get Directions

Newark Law Office

1 Gateway Center, Suite 2600

Newark, NJ 07102

Get Directions